Promote users
GoSafer Security Knowledge Base
This operational reference is organized for GoSafer Security customers and staff. Alarm.com product names are retained where required for technical accuracy.
Overview
Promoting a user moves them from a lower level to the group level. It also finds duplicate users and merges them together.
| Platform | General / Device |
|---|---|
| Content type | How-to / Configuration |
| Source last updated | 2025-06-04 |
Procedure
Are there any users that would not have the option to be promoted?
Yes. Certain users will not have the option to be promoted. This includes the Master user, a duress code user, any users who are already Enterprise users, and any users that are part of a user group on a single system level.
How are duplicates detected?
Duplicates are detected by looking for an exact credential and last name match. The users must have the same name and the same credentials at different sites to be detected as a duplicate.
Note: If two users have the same name, but have different credentials at different locations, they will not be detected as duplicates.
What happens when a user is promoted?
When a user is promoted, the name and history of the user who was originally selected will be retained. All other users will be merged into the original user.
The merged user will maintain device access by staying in the lower-level Access Plan and can be edited from the immediate next-level group. The merged users will be removed from reports and notification subscriptions.
Source and support
For GoSafer Security assistance, visit gosafersecurity.com.
Original Alarm.com reference: https://answers.alarm.com/Customer/Website_and_App/Commercial/Multi-Location_Management/Promote_users
Always verify safety, installation, compatibility, and current UI details against the original manufacturer documentation before operational use.